focus africa
Focus : Africa
Helping Indian companies do business with Africa
INDIA : India’s Trade with the African Region notched US$ 38.96 Billion in the year 2009-10 (DGCI&S provisional figures) constituting 8.37% share in India’s total trade. Trade with the region has grown at a CAGR of 18.10% from US$ 4.48 Billion in 1996-97.
AFRICA : 54 Countries, 1 billion people, US$ 1.01 Billion of trade. Imports worth US$ 468 billion include Mineral Fuels, Oils, Machinery, Vehicles including Boats, Ships, Aircrafts, Electronics & Electricals, Iron & Steel & Articles thereof, Cereals, Plastics, Pharmaceuticals, etc.

Top 20 product groups imported by select African countries ............. [More].

DFTP- An Introduction

India had announced the Duty Free Tariff Preference (DFTP) Scheme for Least Developed Countries (LDCs) on 08.04.2008.  The Scheme provides for duty free market access on 85% of India’s total tariff lines to be implemented over a period of 5 years with 20% reduction in each year, Margins of Preference (MOP) on 9% tariff lines to be implemented over a period of 5 years with 5 equal cuts and an Exclusion (or Sensitive) List of 6% of India’s total lines on which no tariff preference would be given. DFTP Scheme provides duty free and preferential market access on tariff lines that constitute 92.5 % of global exports of LDCs.

For operationalising the DFTP Scheme, the beneficiary countries have to submit to the Department of Commerce, Ministry of Commerce & Industry, Government of India, Udyog Bhavan, New Delhi letters of intent and details of agencies/ officials authorised to issue the certificates of origin.

The Customs Notification of the Scheme, the Positive List (items having Margin of Preference) and the Exclusion List (items having no tariff preference) are available at:

Following African Least Developed Countries (LDCs) are covered under the list of beneficiaries under the DFTP Scheme:

  1. Angola
  2. Benin
  3. Burkina Faso
  4. Burundi
  5. Central African Republic
  6. Chad
  7. Comoros
  8. DR of Congo
  9. Djibouti
  10. Equatorial Guinea
  11. Eritrea
  12. Ethiopia
  13. Guinea
  14. Guinea – Bissau
  15. Gambia
  16. Lesotho
  17. Liberia
  18. Madagascar
  19. Malawi
  20. Mali
  21. Mauritania
  22. Mozambique
  23. Niger
  24. Rwanda
  25. Sao tome & Principe
  26. Senegal
  27. Sierra Leone
  28. Somalia
  29. Sudan
  30. Togo
  31. Tanzania
  32. Uganda
  33. Zambia
Read More....... Ministry of Commerce leaf